According to Rule 69.7, "In the event that a goalkeeper has been pushed into the net together with the puck by an attacking player after making a stop, the goal will be disallowed." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no penalty and no goal Florida.The Panthers later challenged the call and argued that Huberdeau did not interfere with Greiss on the replay. Here is the NHL's take on the challenge:
After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Florida's Jonathan Huberdeau interfered with New York goaltender Thomas Greiss before the puck crossed the goal line.It's a difficult one to call. Goals like this have been allowed many times in the past, but it does appear that 1) Huberdeau takes away Greiss's ability to follow-through on the play when he slides into him (and he was not pushed into the goalie by Islanders' defenseman Ryan Pulock) and 2) Huberdeau actually puts the puck in the net with his skate (though not with a distinct kicking motion).