Sunday, November 6, 2016

Kadri Will Not Face Discipline for Hit on Daniel Sedin



Nazem Kadri's much-talked about hit on Daniel Sedin threw fuel on the fire of a wild third period in last night's Canuck-Maple Leafs title at Air Canada Center--but it will not result in a suspension. The NHL announced that there would be no hearing or supplemental discipline against Kadri for the hit that many felt was a direct shot to the head. As it turns out the NHL feels that Kadri target the shoulder as the principle point of contact--therefore the thrice-suspended center gets off.

Canucks' GM Jim Benning was nonplussed with the decision, but didn't have a whole lot to say about it.

“We disagree with the ruling this morning and are very disappointed,” Benning said. “However, we must accept it and put it behind us so we can focus on tomorrow’s game.”

Kadri was given a five-minute major for the blindside hit.

The teams combined for 171 penalty minutes, eight fighting majors, a line brawl and a death threat on Saturday night.

In other words fun was had by all. The teams meet again on December 3.